Square Loans are business loans for sellers who process payments with Square. Square says offers range from $100 to $500,000, cost “one flat fee” instead of interest, and are repaid automatically from a fixed percentage of your daily card sales. You cannot apply cold: Square Loans are “offered by invitation” based on your Square processing history. They suit Square sellers with steady card sales who want quick, low-paperwork funding; businesses that do not process through Square, or that need a large, long-term loan, should look elsewhere.
This review is part of the SMB Compass lender reviews series. SMB Compass is a financing broker, not a lender: we help owners compare offers from a panel of lending partners. The figures below come from Square’s own website and Square Support Center, checked on September 21, 2026. Where Square does not publish a term, we cite NerdWallet and say so.
Square Loans at a glance
| Feature | What Square says |
|---|---|
| Who issues the loan | Square Financial Services, Inc., a Utah-chartered industrial bank owned by Block, Inc. |
| Amount | “$100–$500K, depending on your business performance” |
| Pricing | “No interest, just one flat fee”; the fee is the difference between the total owed and the loan amount (not quoted as an APR) |
| Repayment | “A fixed percentage of your daily card sales,” plus a minimum payment listed on your offer |
| Term | Not stated on Square’s pages; NerdWallet reports the balance must be repaid within 18 months |
| Eligibility | Invitation only; Square looks at processing volume, account history and payment frequency |
| Credit check | Credit review, but applying “doesn’t affect your credit score” |
| Collateral | None for $100,000 or less; may take a security interest and file a UCC statement above that |
| Late fees | None added to the amount owed |
| Prepayment | Allowed at any time at no additional cost |
| Speed | Next business day, or instantly with Square Checking (a Support Center article says 1–3 business days) |
How Square Loans work
Square reviews seller accounts “on a daily basis for loan offers.” If you are eligible, an offer appears in your Square Dashboard. You choose an amount up to the offered maximum, and as you move the amount slider, “the fee and hold rate will adjust accordingly.” A smaller loan means a smaller share of daily card sales goes to repayment.
Once the loan is funded, Square automatically takes a fixed percentage of each day’s card sales until the balance is paid. You pay more on busy days and less on slow ones. This structure resembles a merchant cash advance, but Square calls it a loan, issued by a bank, with a single fixed fee and a required minimum payment.
The minimum payment matters. Square says “minimum payment requirements will be listed on your loan offer.” NerdWallet reports that “At least one-eighteenth of your initial loan amount must be paid every 60 days” and that “The full balance must be repaid within 18 months.” If you fall short, Square’s repayment FAQ says “the repayment rate applied to your daily card sales may increase and a debit may be initiated from your Square balance and/or linked bank account.”
Square allows “one active Square loan per location at a time.”
What Square Loans cost
Square charges one flat fee, and “The total cost of the loan is simply the loan fee, which is the difference between the total owed amount and the initial loan amount.” There are no late fees, and prepaying does not change the cost: “The cost of your loan does not change by making prepayments or repaying your loan early.”
That last point cuts both ways. Because the fee is fixed, paying early does not save you money, and a fast payoff raises the effective APR. Square does not publish fee ranges or an APR on the pages we checked. To compare an offer with a loan quoted as an APR, work out the fee as a percentage of the loan and estimate how many months your sales will take to repay it. Our explainer on factor rates vs APR shows the method.
Who qualifies
Square’s eligibility FAQ lists factors including:
- Having “Processed at least $10,000 or more in a year” and used Square on at least 20 days
- Consistent payment frequency and a balanced mix of new and returning customers
- No payment disputes or chargebacks, and no active payment limits or reserves
- Enough funds in linked accounts to avoid failed debits
- No recent loan denials
Square adds that “seeing ‘good’ across all factors does not guarantee a loan offer.” One exclusion is new for 2026: “As of August 2026, businesses that sell CBD products and/or services will not be eligible for new Square loans.”
Square does not publish a minimum credit score. It says “Each loan application is subject to credit review” but that applying does not affect your credit score, and that “Square doesn’t report to third-party credit bureaus.”
How fast are Square Loans?
Square’s loans page says “Once approved, money will be deposited in your account the next business day — or instantly with Square Checking.” Its getting-started article gives a range of “1-3 business days” to a linked bank account. To be safe, plan on up to three business days unless you use Square Checking.
Pros and cons
Pros:
- No separate application: offers are based on your Square account activity
- One flat fee, no late fees, and applying does not affect your credit score
- Payments rise and fall with daily card sales
- No collateral for loans of $100,000 or less
- Fast funding, instant with Square Checking
Cons:
- Only for Square sellers, and only by invitation
- No published fee range or APR
- Paying early does not reduce the fee
- A minimum payment still applies, and missing it can raise your repayment rate or trigger a debit
- Payments are not reported to credit bureaus, so they won’t build business credit
- One loan per location at a time
Who Square Loans suit, and who should look elsewhere
Square Loans suit restaurants, retailers, salons and other card-heavy businesses already processing on Square that need modest, short-term funding for inventory, equipment or a seasonal push, and that value speed and simplicity over the lowest price.
Look elsewhere if:
- You do not process through Square or have not received an offer. Online lenders such as those in our Fundbox and OnDeck reviews accept direct applications.
- You need a large or long-term loan. A bank or SBA loan may be a better fit; see our Live Oak Bank review.
- You want a revolving line of credit. See our business line of credit page.
- Your card sales are a small share of revenue. Repayment tied to card sales can take longer and hit your minimum-payment requirement.
For short-term financing outside the Square ecosystem, see our Credibly review.
Pitfalls to avoid
- Taking the maximum offer by default. A smaller loan means a lower fee and a smaller share of daily sales withheld.
- Ignoring the minimum payment. A slow season can trigger a higher repayment rate or a bank debit.
- Expecting early payoff to save money. The fee is fixed.
- Stacking. A card-sales loan on top of another advance can squeeze daily cash; read about stacking loans.
Frequently asked questions
Can you apply for a Square Loan?
No. Square Loans are offered by invitation. Square reviews accounts daily, and eligible sellers see an offer in their Square Dashboard.
How much does a Square Loan cost?
Square charges one flat fee instead of interest. The total cost is the difference between the total owed and the loan amount. Square does not publish fee ranges or an APR.
How do you repay a Square Loan?
Square automatically deducts a fixed percentage of your daily card sales. You must also meet the minimum payment shown on your offer; NerdWallet reports this is one-eighteenth of the loan every 60 days, with full repayment within 18 months.
Does a Square Loan affect your credit score?
Square says applying does not affect your credit score, and it does not report to third-party credit bureaus.
Who is the lender for Square Loans?
Square says “All Square loans are issued by Square Financial Services, Inc., a Utah-Chartered Industrial Bank.” Square Financial Services “is a wholly owned subsidiary of Block, Inc.”
Next step
If you have a Square offer, compare its flat fee against at least one other option on total cost. Our lender reviews hub covers other lenders, and the business loans page explains how SMB Compass can help you compare offers from our lending partners.
Sources
- Square, Square Loans: squareup.com/us/en/banking/loans
- Square Support Center, getting started with Square Loans: squareup.com
- Square Support Center, eligibility FAQs: squareup.com
- Square Support Center, repayment FAQs: squareup.com
- NerdWallet, Square business loans review (third party): nerdwallet.com
About this page. Written by Ezra Cabrera, Content Team Lead at SMB Compass. Figures were checked against each lender’s own website on September 21, 2026; lenders change their terms, so confirm current terms before you apply, and let us know if you spot a figure that has changed. SMB Compass is a business financing broker: we don’t lend our own money, and we are paid by the lenders we place loans with. This page is general information, not financial, legal or tax advice.
