Fora Financial is an online small-business funder that offers short-term loans and revenue advances of up to $1.5 million, plus lines of credit, longer-term loans and SBA loans. Its short-term loans are priced with factor rates of 1.13 to 1.50, and it publishes a 570 minimum FICO score and a 6-month time-in-business minimum. It suits businesses that need money within a day or two and can handle daily or weekly payments; businesses that qualify for bank or SBA pricing will usually find lower-cost options.
This review is part of the SMB Compass lender reviews series. SMB Compass is a financing broker, not a lender: we help owners compare offers from a panel of lending partners. The figures below come from Fora Financial’s own website, checked on September 21, 2026. Where Fora’s pages give different figures, we note both.
Fora Financial at a glance
| Product | Amount | Term | Pricing (as Fora quotes it) | Published minimums | Speed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small business loan | Up to $1.5 million | 4 to 18 months | Factor rate 1.13 to 1.50; origination fee as low as 2.5%; wire fee | 6 months in business, 570 FICO, $240K annual revenue (FAQ says $17,000 a month) | Decision in as little as 4 hours; funds in as little as 24 hours after you accept |
| Revenue advance | Up to $1.5 million | Up to 18 months | Not stated on the product page | 6 months, 570 FICO, $240K annual revenue | Decision in as little as 4 hours; funds in as little as 24 hours |
| Line of credit | Up to $100,000 | Up to 12 months | Not stated; interest only on drawn funds | 6 months, 570 FICO, $240K annual revenue | Decision in as little as 4 hours; funds within one business day |
| Term loan | Up to $500,000 | Up to 12 years | Not stated | 6 months, 570 FICO, $240K annual revenue | Funds within three days of approval |
| SBA loan | Up to $5 million | 10 to 25 years | Not stated | FICO 640+ | Up to 25 days from approval |
Who issues the credit: Fora’s disclosure reads, “Business loans and revenue advances are issued by Fora Financial, Celtic Bank, or a network of unaffiliated third-party funding providers.” In other words, depending on the product, your agreement could be with Fora, with Celtic Bank or with a partner. Fora’s revenue advance page says the actual provider is identified in your agreement before signing. Check the name on the contract.
Fora Financial’s products
Small business loans
This is Fora’s core product: a lump sum of up to $1.5 million repaid over a fixed term. Fora’s FAQ puts payback periods at “four to 18 months,” and the product page lists “Daily or Weekly” fixed payments. It is priced with a factor rate, not an interest rate. Fora gives its own example: “a $100,000 loan at a 1.25 factor rate results in $125,000 in total repayment.”
Revenue advance
The revenue advance is Fora’s revenue-based product. Instead of a fixed payment, you “repay through a set percentage of your daily or weekly revenue,” so payments fall in slow periods and rise in busy ones. Fora lists up to $1.5 million and terms up to 18 months. For how this compares with a loan, see our guide to revenue-based financing.
Line of credit, term loans and SBA loans
Fora’s line of credit runs up to $100,000 with terms up to 12 months and fixed monthly repayments; you pay interest only on what you draw. Its term loan page offers “a lump sum up to $500,000 with fixed monthly payments and terms up to 12 years.” Its SBA page lists funding up to $5 million, 10- to 25-year terms and a 640 FICO minimum. Fora does not publish rates for any of these three products. Compare them with our pages on business lines of credit, business term loans and SBA loans.
What Fora Financial costs
Fora publishes a factor-rate range and a fee floor for its short-term loans, which makes it easier to estimate your cost before you apply. On its FAQ page, Fora says: “Our rates range from 1.13 to 1.50 with early payback provisions that can reduce your rate to as little as 1.05.” It also says its “one-time origination fee can be as low as 2.5 percent” and that it charges “a one-time wire-transfer fee.” The wire fee amount is not published.
Those numbers are factor rates, not APRs. A factor rate tells you total repayment as a multiple of the amount funded; it ignores how quickly you repay. A 1.25 factor on a 6-month loan works out to a far higher APR than the same factor over 18 months. Our explainer on factor rates vs APR shows how to convert them.
Early payoff can help. Fora says there are no prepayment penalties and that, “depending on your pre-approved offer, you may be eligible for prepayment discounts.” Ask for the discount schedule in writing, because it varies by offer.
Who qualifies
Fora’s product pages list these requirements for its loans, revenue advance and line of credit:
- “6+ Months” in business
- “$240K+ Annual Revenue”
- “570+” FICO score
- A business checking account
- A US-based company and no open bankruptcies
- “No other active financing” on the small business loan and line of credit pages
The revenue minimum is stated differently on the FAQ page, which says you must “generate $17,000 per month in gross sales.” That works out to $204,000 a year, below the $240,000 on the product pages. Plan on the higher figure.
To apply, Fora asks for three months of recent business bank statements and a government-issued photo ID. Checking your options uses a soft credit inquiry that “does not affect your personal credit score.” Fora also notes that funding “will not build your business credit as we do not report on your credit report.”
How fast is Fora Financial?
Fora advertises “approval decisions in as little as 4 hours” and funds “in as little as 24 hours of offer acceptance” for its short-term loans and revenue advance. Term loans fund within three days of approval, and SBA loans take up to 25 days from approval.
Pros and cons
Pros:
- Published factor-rate range and origination fee, so you can estimate cost up front
- Low published minimums: 6 months in business and a 570 FICO score
- Decisions in hours and funding in about a day
- No prepayment penalties, with possible prepayment discounts
- Soft credit check to see options
Cons:
- Factor rates of 1.13 to 1.50 on terms of 18 months or less mean a high effective APR
- Daily or weekly payments can strain cash flow
- Requires no other active financing for some products, which rules out borrowers who already carry an advance or loan
- Revenue minimum appears as both an annual and a monthly figure, so confirm which applies to you
- Does not report payments to credit bureaus, so on-time payments won’t build business credit
Who Fora Financial suits, and who should look elsewhere
Fora suits a business with at least six months of steady deposits, fair credit and a short-term need with a clear payback, such as inventory for a busy season or covering a gap before a large receivable lands.
Look elsewhere if:
- You have 2+ years in business and good credit. You may qualify for a lower-cost SBA or bank loan; see our Live Oak Bank review.
- You want a revolving line with more flexibility. Compare the Bluevine and Fundbox reviews.
- You already have an advance or loan outstanding. Fora requires no other active financing on its loan and line of credit.
- You want to build business credit. Fora does not report to credit bureaus.
For another short-term funder with similar minimums, see our Credibly review.
Pitfalls to avoid
- Comparing a factor rate with an APR. Convert both to APR or to total dollar cost first.
- Forgetting the fees. Add the origination fee and wire fee to your cost.
- Stacking. Taking a second advance on top of this one can push payments beyond what your cash flow can carry; read our guide to stacking loans.
- Not checking who the funder is. Your contract may be with Fora, Celtic Bank or a third party.
Frequently asked questions
What credit score do you need for Fora Financial?
Fora lists a minimum 570 FICO score for its small business loans, revenue advance and line of credit, and 640 for SBA loans.
Does Fora Financial charge interest or a factor rate?
Its short-term small business loans use a factor rate, which Fora says ranges “from 1.13 to 1.50.” It adds a one-time origination fee “as low as 2.5 percent” and a wire-transfer fee.
How fast does Fora Financial fund?
Fora says decisions can come in as little as 4 hours and funds in as little as 24 hours after you accept an offer. Term loans fund within three days of approval.
Is there a prepayment penalty with Fora Financial?
No. Fora says there is no prepayment penalty and that some offers include prepayment discounts that can lower the factor rate to as little as 1.05.
Does Fora Financial report to credit bureaus?
No. Fora’s FAQ says funding “will not build your business credit as we do not report on your credit report.”
Next step
If a Fora offer is on the table, compare its total cost against other short-term and longer-term options before you sign. Our lender reviews hub covers other lenders, and the business loans page explains how SMB Compass can help you compare offers from our lending partners.
Sources
- Fora Financial, homepage and disclosure: forafinancial.com
- Fora Financial, FAQ: forafinancial.com/faq/
- Fora Financial, small business loans: forafinancial.com/loans-and-financing/small-business-loans/
- Fora Financial, revenue advance: forafinancial.com/loans-and-financing/revenue-advance/
- Fora Financial, business line of credit: forafinancial.com/loans-and-financing/business-line-of-credit/
- Fora Financial, term loans: forafinancial.com/loans-and-financing/term-loans/
- Fora Financial, SBA loan: forafinancial.com/loans-and-financing/sba-loan/
About this page. Written by Ezra Cabrera, Content Team Lead at SMB Compass. Figures were checked against each lender’s own website on September 21, 2026; lenders change their terms, so confirm current terms before you apply, and let us know if you spot a figure that has changed. SMB Compass is a business financing broker: we don’t lend our own money, and we are paid by the lenders we place loans with. This page is general information, not financial, legal or tax advice.
