Both Bluevine and Fundbox sell revolving business lines of credit, and both advertise lines of up to $250,000. Fundbox is far easier to qualify for: it asks for $30,000+ in annual revenue and 3+ months in business, but its published pricing is for short plans (fees start at 4.66% for a 12-week plan, roughly a 36.8% APR equivalent). Bluevine asks for a 625 FICO score, 12+ months in business and $10,000 in monthly revenue, and in return offers longer repayment (weekly over up to 52 weeks, or monthly over 12 months for stronger businesses) with rates it advertises “as low as 7.8%.”
Our full Bluevine review and Fundbox review go deeper on each lender. This page compares them head to head; the rest of our comparisons are in the lender reviews hub.
Bluevine vs Fundbox at a glance
Figures checked on September 21, 2026, from each lender’s own site unless marked. Pricing is shown as each lender quotes it.
| Bluevine | Fundbox | |
|---|---|---|
| Products | Line of credit (direct); term loans up to $500,000 and SBA 7(a) loans up to $350,000 through partners; business checking | Line of credit and term loan options |
| Line amount | $1,000 to $250,000 | “Up to $250,000 in funding” on Fundbox’s site (Bankrate lists $150,000) |
| Repayment | Weekly over up to 52 weeks, or monthly over 12 months | 12-week plan quoted by Fundbox; Bankrate and Finder report 12 or 24 weeks |
| Pricing as quoted | Rates “as low as 7.8%” for top qualifying customers (basis not stated); “additional fees apply” | Fees start at 4.66% for a 12-week plan and vary by applicant (about 36.8% APR equivalent) |
| Minimum credit score | 625 FICO (weekly plan); 700 (monthly plan) | Not published by Fundbox; NerdWallet, Bankrate and Finder report 600 |
| Minimum revenue | $10,000/month ($120,000/year); $80,000/month for the monthly plan | $30,000+ annual revenue |
| Minimum time in business | 12 months; 3 years for the monthly plan | 3+ months, with 3+ months of business checking transactions |
| Other requirements | Corporation or LLC; no bankruptcies; not available in NV, ND, SD or U.S. territories | Business checking account |
| Credit check | Applying won’t affect your score | Soft pull to apply; hard pull at first draw |
| Speed | Decision in as little as 5 minutes; draws in as fast as 24 hours, or instantly into Bluevine Business Checking | Funds within 2 business days |
| Lender of record | Celtic Bank | First Electronic Bank or Lead Bank |
How the pricing works
Fundbox charges a fee on each draw rather than an interest rate. Its help center says fees start at 4.66% for a 12-week plan, vary by applicant, and that remaining fees are waived if you repay early, with no prepayment penalty (Fundbox Help Center). Bankrate and Finder report a 24-week option priced from 8.99% (Bankrate). Fundbox’s own site doesn’t show that figure.
Bluevine advertises “interest rates as low as 7.8% for top qualifying customers” (Bluevine), but the page doesn’t say whether that is simple interest, a periodic rate or an APR, and it notes that “additional fees apply.” Third-party reviewers describe it differently. Bankrate lists “simple interest: 7.8%”, while Forbes Advisor says simple interest starts at 5.9% on the weekly plan and 7.8% on the monthly plan (Forbes Advisor). Because the basis isn’t published, Bluevine’s 7.8% can’t be compared directly with Fundbox’s fee or converted to an APR. Ask Bluevine for the APR on your specific offer.
Worked example: a $75,000 Fundbox draw
A two-sided example would need Bluevine’s full pricing, which it doesn’t publish, so this example covers Fundbox only. At Fundbox’s starting fee of 4.66% on a 12-week plan, a $75,000 draw costs $3,495 in fees, repaid in 12 weekly payments of $6,541.25. The APR equivalent of that schedule is roughly 36.8%. Fundbox’s fees vary by applicant, so treat this as the best case. At the 8.99% 24-week fee reported by Bankrate and Finder, the APR equivalent works out to about 36.4%, because you get twice as long to repay. Paying early cuts the dollar cost, since Fundbox waives the remaining fees.
For a Bluevine offer, ask for the total repayment on a given draw and the payment schedule. Then you can work out the dollar cost the same way. Our guide to business lines of credit explains how draw fees and interest differ.
Who qualifies
Bluevine
- Weekly plan: 625+ FICO, 12+ months in business, $2,000 average monthly bank balance, $10,000+ monthly or $120,000+ annual revenue (Bluevine Help Center).
- Monthly plan: 700+ FICO, 3+ years in business, $10,000 average monthly balance, $80,000+ monthly or $960,000+ annual revenue.
- Must be a corporation or LLC with no bankruptcies; not available in Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota or U.S. territories.
Fundbox
- $30,000+ annual revenue, 3+ months in business, and a business checking account with 3+ months of transactions (Fundbox).
- Fundbox doesn’t publish a minimum credit score on its main pages. NerdWallet, Bankrate and Finder all report 600.
- Bankrate and Finder list a $100,000 revenue minimum, while Fundbox’s own site shows $30,000. Go by Fundbox’s site, but expect the offer to reflect your numbers.
Choose Bluevine if…
- You’ve been in business for at least 12 months, have a 625+ score and bring in $10,000+ a month.
- You want up to 52 weeks to repay a draw, or monthly payments if you qualify for the monthly plan.
- You already bank with Bluevine or want instant draws into Bluevine Business Checking.
- You may later want a term loan or SBA loan through Bluevine’s partners.
Choose Fundbox if…
- You’re a young business (3+ months) or earn well under $120,000 a year.
- Your business isn’t a corporation or LLC (Bluevine requires one).
- You need short-term cash for 12 weeks or so and value a soft-pull application with no prepayment penalty.
- You’re in Nevada, North Dakota or South Dakota, where Bluevine doesn’t offer its line.
Pitfalls to watch
- Short repayment windows. A 12-week Fundbox plan means large weekly payments: $6,541.25 a week on a $75,000 draw in the example above. Check that your weekly cash flow can carry it.
- Rate basis not stated. Bluevine’s 7.8% is a best-case figure for top applicants, and its basis isn’t stated. Don’t compare it with an APR.
- Hard pull at first draw. Fundbox’s application uses a soft pull, but the first draw triggers a hard inquiry.
- Third-party figures vary. Reviews list Fundbox’s maximum line as $150,000 (Bankrate) or $250,000 (NerdWallet, Finder), and its revenue minimum as $30,000 or $100,000. Fundbox’s own site shows $250,000 and $30,000.
FAQ
Which is cheaper, Bluevine or Fundbox?
It can’t be settled from published data. Fundbox’s starting fee works out to roughly a 36.8% APR equivalent on a 12-week plan. Bluevine’s 7.8% starting rate has no stated basis, and Bluevine says additional fees apply. Compare the APR on your actual offers.
Does Bluevine or Fundbox check my credit?
Bluevine says applying won’t affect your credit score. Fundbox does a soft pull when you apply and a hard pull when you take your first draw.
What is the maximum line from each?
Both lenders’ sites say up to $250,000. Third-party reviews differ on Fundbox: Bankrate says $150,000, while NerdWallet and Finder say $250,000.
Who actually lends the money?
Bluevine’s line of credit is issued by Celtic Bank. Fundbox’s loans and lines are originated by First Electronic Bank or Lead Bank.
Next step
If you’d like to see how a Bluevine or Fundbox line compares with offers from other lenders, SMB Compass can help you compare options from the lenders we work with. See our Bluevine alternatives and Fundbox alternatives, or read OnDeck vs Fundbox.
Sources
- Bluevine: Line of credit
- Bluevine: Business loans
- Bluevine Help Center: Line of credit repayment plans and requirements
- Bluevine Help Center: Credit line ranges
- Fundbox: Homepage
- Fundbox: FAQ
- Fundbox Help Center: How much does it cost to use Fundbox?
- Fundbox: How it works
- Bankrate: Bluevine review (updated Aug 25, 2026)
- Forbes Advisor: Bluevine review (Mar 2026)
- Bankrate: Fundbox review (updated Aug 25, 2026)
- NerdWallet: Fundbox review (updated Apr 14, 2026)
- Finder: Fundbox review (updated Mar 19, 2026)
About this page. Written by Ezra Cabrera, Content Team Lead at SMB Compass. Figures were checked against each lender’s own website on September 21, 2026; lenders change their terms, so confirm current terms before you apply, and let us know if you spot a figure that has changed. SMB Compass is a business financing broker: we don’t lend our own money, and we are paid by the lenders we place loans with. This page is general information, not financial, legal or tax advice.
